bumblesea


meet jamie ribisi, my newest art crush
05/19/2009, 1:49 pm
Filed under: inspiration

one of the best things about being a part of the handmade community is the trades. I used to love trading with artists, but I think the current price point of my jewelry (from $35-$275) might scare off most traders.

anyway, I was scouring etsy for sellers that participate in trades and I found this amazing artist, jamie ribisi. I fell in love with her “how much tea I drink in a week” encaustic painting series.

how much tea I drink in a week - jamie ribisi

how much tea I drink in a week - jamie ribisi

encaustic painting series - jamie ribisi

encaustic painting series - jamie ribisi

a quote from jamie about the series:

“Ok, I have a problem. I *love* tea. That may not sound like a problem but I *REALLY* love tea and when I made this group of paintings I actually sat down and figured out how much tea I drink in a week, on average. I drink about 17 cups of hot & iced tea a week. I’m ok with that, especially if there are cookies involved.

This encaustic painting has actual tea leaves embedded in it– vanilla spice chai to be exact (my favorite!). It has the a tally of 17 hatched into it to reveal the underpainting which is the bestest olive green. The overall color is how I like to drink my tea– milky! This was really a great mix since the painting smells like chai tea with honey– perfect!”

check out her website and etsy shop!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow– THANK YOU so much!! So cool to find this (thanks, google alerts!) Love your work, too!

Comment by Jamie Ribisi




Leave a Reply

